My First Vintage Find(s)!

The day has come! I’ve been desperate to finally make my first purchase of vintage clothing, and I’m pleased to say I am the proud owner of two new/old vintage dresses!

I’ve been working my way into the vintage scene for about a year now, starting with retro style high street pieces to create a vintage feel to my outfits. Then I was able to start looking at reproduction companies for that amazing vintage look and style that I’ve fallen in love with, from bright and beautiful fifties swing dresses, to flattering, waist high forties trousers. But, it has always been the dream to go from newly made, to newly found, and I’ve been lusting after various pieces on sites like Love Miss Daisy and Candy Says for ages.

Whilst great vintage pieces can have a bit of a premium, it is very much a matter of research, waiting and watching for the right piece to come up. That’s not to say that expensive pieces aren’t always bad value for money – I think £175 for a unique, stunning, forties ball gown in great condition is perfectly reasonable! But that doesn’t mean the pennies are always there. Rokit is a great place to look for a truly mind boggling range of vintage clothes and accessories, for him and her. There are countless categories of clothing, with thousands of pieces to browse through – there has got to be something for everyone in their Aladdin’s Cave of a warehouse.

photo (1)

I was browsing through the dresses section, and came across a stunning damask print bias cut dress. I’ve never thought I would be the right shape for bias cut, tending to suit the more boyish figure popular in the twenties and thirties, but the beautiful and delicate peach colour was calling out to me. This dress was mine. The label said size twelve, but Rokit are fantastic at puttnig the measurements on for each item of clothing, so you can work it out for yourself. Fortunately, this dress should fit my size, despite being 160 in length – about 5ft 2″ – whereas I am 5ft head included. That’s what sewing is for, right? The shape of the dress means this shouldn’t be too much of a problem. And at an amazing £26, whilst that pretty much guarantees this isn’t a genuine thirties piece, it’s still a bargain for a stunning dress regardless. Click!

photo (2)

Then when I’d placed my order and kept browsing, I found another beautiful dress! A  cute little floral piece with a skater style skirt, gorgeous pearl style buttons and a lovely crotchet design around the neckline – a sweetheart style with button up neck creating an interesting keyhole design. Again, at £26 this clearly isn’t from the golden era, but it’s a beautiful sweet little dress which can be worked into your everyday wardrobe. Give yourself some soft, forties waves and gentle make-up for an elegant housewife look, or go back a bit further with an up-do for a slightly more Victoriana look! It’s all about bringing a piece together with all the tricks up your sleeve to create the look you want.

I was thrilled to bits with my purchases, and whilst my first forays into vintage clothes don’t necessarily have as much history as others, I’m still so excited to keep expanding my collection – from high street, to repro and the occasional newly found gem.

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

