Happy Vintage Birthday to Me!

I have had such an amazing birthday this year with so many incredible presents, I just couldn’t resist sharing with you all! Not only was I spoilt with presents, but also got treated to some very yummy goodies and some lovely celebratory nights out! I really am so lucky to have such a wonderful husband, fantastic family, and amazing friends πŸ™‚

My present from my parents simply blew me away – I have wanted a real, old typewriter for years and years, and have never been able to find anything that wasn’t a 70s electric typewriter (and not the point) Β or outrageously expensive. I’ve kept my eye out, particularly as I get more into the vintage scene, but with still no luck. Luckily, my mum’s boss was having a clear out of his home and came across a beautiful Imperial vintage typewriter! Apparently it was in manky condition, so they got it restored, and I now have a beautiful working typewriter! I was thrilled to bits! I can’t wait to get our desk area finally sorted and have it looking amazing, and to be able to use it for letters, recipes, and whenever I fancy that satisfying ‘clickclickclickping!’ that makes writing seem so much more tangible. Yay! I was also lucky enough to receive a voucher for my favourite Retro Daisy, but more of that in another post πŸ™‚

482364_10151504373350255_2135576104_n

My present from Dave was at his parents house, the idea being we were going to stop off to see them on our way to the New Forest and do presents there. The sneaky Rhodes family that I have married into had actually all clubbed together and bought me a bike! I was so excited! I’d suggested a month or two earlier to my parents that if they were stuck for ideas of what to get me, I’d love a bicycle to start riding in the summer, but they of course had already sorted my present. So Dave sprung into action, discreetly getting me to show him the bike I wanted and orchestrating with my sister to make use of her Halford’s discount. It’s a step through bike, so no ungainly hopping over the frame, and it gives it a gorgeous vintage look! I’ve already got people telling me I HAVE to have a wicker basket on the front! I can’t wait for sunnier and warmer weather, to ride this up and down the beach, the river, and maybe up the Downs if I’m feeling brave!

295573_10151504592220255_375418252_n

Laena, my sister, got me this beautiful trinket box; it looks like its straight out of the 18th century! I love the gorgeous scroll detail and the rose embellishment, it’s just the perfect size for my favourite bits of jewellery. And she also made me my birthday cupcakes, and as the baker behind cakeywakeybakey, she has really outdone herself this time. The design was my suggestion, inspired by Isabel Wolffe’s description of vintage prom dresses as being ‘cupcake dresses’ because the petticoats made them so beautiful and full and gorgeous! She did even better than I had imagined, and they tasted incredible! With simple base and buttercream icing, she put strawberry jam into the middle of the cake itself, which made a lovely, sharp contrast to the sweetness of the icing and the fondant. Yummy cakeywakeybakey goodness always goes down very nicely!

65523_10151504368935255_353830921_n600239_521581911214584_1875898419_n

After our night away, we went out for dinner with my family to a local Mexican restaurant that Laena recommended called TexMex in Worthing. I love Mexican food, its definitely one of my favourite cuisines, but there are so few restaurants out there. I do now have a new favourite restaurant! There was a really lovely atmosphere, the waitresses really looked after us and made us feel at home. The menu was incredible, there was so much to choose from! In the end I opted for chorizo mussels, and the Mexican Feast for 1, which had a small amount of different meals on the menu. It was to die for! There was not a single thing in the meal I didn’t enjoy, the heat was just right for all of us, and the variety across the board was perfect. The only problem was I shouldn’t have had a starter, there was so much food in the main! Without a doubt my new favourite restaurant, and I can’t wait to go back and finish the feast by not having a starter!

http://www.montaguestexmex.co.uk/

Th Saturday I arranged to go out with friends into Brighton, to a place recommended by a friend called The Mesmerist. I got a text from her saying it was an amazing forties/fifties vintage style bar with a great atmosphere and even better music, and we had to go all dressed up dancing! It sounded like a place that was definitely worth trying, and she wasn’t wrong. I loved the decor of the place, full of quirky eccentric vintage pieces, with everything from a prosthetic leg to a feather boa wearing chicken, and a barber’s chair that actually provided men with a haircut upon request! It was absolutely amazing, the feel of the place was so happy and vibrant, the music was awesome, and I shall definitely be returning!

http://www.drinkinbrighton.co.uk/mesmerist

All in all, a pretty amazing birthday!

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

