Twi-Hard? If The Dress fits…

Ok – so I’m  fan of Twilight. I’m not by any means a Twi-hard; I read the books first and was initially completely disappointed with the films  and really quite disillusioned with the whole thing. I became really quite cynical, and didn’t read or watch any of them for a few years, until the advert for Breaking Dawn pt 2 came out. It actually looked pretty good, so I thought I’d have a catch up. I started reading the books again, and remembered how amazing they were, as long as you separated them from the films. An I also did the same for the films, and remembered how good they are as well. It was a nice revelation. Whilst Robert Pattinson is probably about as perfect an Edward Cullen as you’re going to get, he was always too tortured in the films for my liking. In the books he’s witty, funny and smiles a lot more often, but I imagine we can probably put that largely down to directing. The same with Kristen Stewart; Bella in the books is much stronger, and again funnier. I always felt the movie Bella was a bit limp and devoid of emotion… but let’s not get into that argument, that’s not what I’m here for.

I said I wasn’t a Twi-hard – but I’ve only gone and searched high and low for the stunning cobalt blue dress Bella wears as she wakes up a vampire. I don’t think anyone who’s seen the film can really blame me, it is a knockout of a dress. I searched my usual haunts with no luck, widening my search to anywhere I thought might have that kind of dress – sexy bodycon but still demure enough to be smart and formal. The colour was essential, there was no point finding the perfect shaped dress if it wasn’t in that breathtaking cobalt blue. I was having no luck – I thought I’d searched everywhere. But once again, as has caught me out before, sometimes the key really lies in the words you use in your online search. I couldn’t believe that I couldn’t find what I was after on Asos, so I gave it another go. I can’t remember what I searched first time round, or second time round, but I found IT. At work I sit next to one of my closest friends, who really is a Twi-hard, and after getting her seal of approval, I clicked buy. I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited for a dress to arrive!

And when it did, I was not let down in the slightest. the fabric is slightly ribbed and very stretchy, making it very forgiving and flattering, particularly with the ruche detailing at the side. The length is ideal, even for me, and the deep v-neck is a bit deeper than the dress in the film, but just right. The shoulder straps are the right width, the wrap style of the bust is amazing, and the colour… the colour is breathtaking. The cobalt blue is so rich, and warm, but still keeps a bit of freshness – ok, I’m rambling about how much I’m in love with a colour, but when you see it you’ll know what I mean. It looks amazing with softly wavy hair, a la Mrs Cullen, but will look mega sleek with straight hair too. This dress is a total showstopper, and I’ve already planned to wear it to dinner with my husband for our 6 month anniversary later this week 😉

269208_10151541497105255_2004488758_n

http://www.asos.com/Vesper/Vesper-Pencil-Dress-with-Wrap-Front/Prod/pgeproduct.aspx?iid=2786243&SearchQuery=vesper%20pencil%20blue%20dress&sh=0&pge=0&pgesize=20&sort=-1&clr=Blue

Yours,

The Vampire Housewife x

Leave a Reply

