Must have Makeup!

As I work vintage styling more and more into my everyday lifestyle, I’m finding that as makeup is one of the simplest yet most effective ways of doing this, there are a few essentials that I absolutely cannot be without. There are a few tricks that require a bit of practice, like the classic eyeliner flick, or perfect contouring eyeshadow; but with certain makeup must haves, achieving a basic vintage look is becoming part of my everyday routine.

WP_20130808_004

I did mention that the eyeliner flick requires a bit of practice, so the must for beginners is a good eyeliner pencil – cheaper and easier to practice a steady hand, but smudging is definitely a problem. Once you feel like you’re ready for the next step, gel liner is the way forward. I was a little dubious at first, but as I’ve tried my luck with liquid and felt tip with no luck, I didn’t have any other option if I wanted to avoid panda eyes by dinner. I opted for Maybelline, and being truthful the draw to this brand in particular was the special offer in Boots (well you’ve got to start somewhere!) I love this stuff. The precision brush means you can get so close to the lash line, and it goes on so smoothly and cleanly there’s not even a hint of a wobble. There’s no mirror line when you open your eyes and you lid sticks to your eye socket, and low and behold, there’s no drooping smudge at the end of the day! It’s a miracle! I will still be keeping trusty pencil liner for the bottom of my eyes, but gel liner is an absolute essential for a sleek, classy eyeliner flick.

I am completely in love with Benefit’s Fine One One. In the form of a twisty block of soft, creamy blush, this is a total wonder product Largely used as a highlighting cheek tint, with three colours creating the perfect mix – coral, rose and champagne pink – this can also be used on lips, blending the colours or using one colour in particular, and the pale pink can also be used as a brow highlighter. The best thing is, as the colours mix onto your cheeks with a light mix of the finger, the colours blend perfectly with your skin, meaning different skin tones elicit a different shade. Some may come out fresh and rosy, others bright coral, or even refreshing pink. This creates instant vintage cheeks with so little effort, and Benefit’s gorgeous vintage packaging is an added bonus!

Lastly, the most important weapon in any vintage gal’s arsenal, is the perfect, long lasting red lippy. I do think it’s a good idea to have a few in your makeup box, to suit different occasions and outfits, but my must have is Maybelline’s 24hr range. i was in Boots with my sister, who was recommending them too me, and wasn’t convinced until she put a tester of the scarlet red on her hand, and no amount of smudging, spitting or licking would make so much as a dent in the colour. Suffice to say, it was still on her hand the next day, and I bought two colours. The red is a gorgeous, bright orange-tone (which I have a photo of in an upcoming post) that is perfect for the typical forties look, or a vibrant rockabilly style. The more natural colour I’m wearing here is so lovely, it works with anything and everything just to give lips that subtle hint of colour, that lasts and lasts throughout the day. I love it!

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

