The Big Chop!

Well, I’ve finally done it! After years of growing my hair out, getting fed up at various in-between stages, falling in love with vintage and resolving to grow my hair to better aid victory rolls, I’ve cut it all off. The thing is, I’ve never been very good at styling my hair. I know these things take practice, particularly vintage hair styles, but I really don’t have the patience, or quite frankly the interest. Even in the fashion magazines, I’ll read the whole thing pretty much cover to cover, but I’ll always skim through the hair sections. So, as my hair was getting unhealthier and unhealthier, I finally made the decision to start afresh – give it a rest from the intense heat of curling, and the harsh treatment of dying.

The tricky part was what style to go for – this was a massive decision and whilst hair grows back, I needed to get it right. I considered pixie crops, bobs, and everything in between, which is what I ended up going for. As I was desperately Google-ing short hairstyles, I realised how important it was to me that my hair would still make sense with my vintage style. I’m not one for going for the full ensemble everyday, but the pixie crops I was looking at just wouldn’t ‘do (excuse the pun!) So I started searching for short vintage hairstyles, and came up of course with Carey Mulligan as Daisy Buchanan from The Great Gatsby. Of course! Why didn’t I think of that!

Daisy-Head-Scarf-11

 

The problem with choosing hairstyles from movies however, is you’ve got to think about the hours of preparation and constant touching up the hair goes through to achieve that perfect look. So, I started looking at Carey Mulligan photos in general, because whilst she does still have a hair stylist for the red carpet events I’m sure, it’s going to be a bit more achievable. I didn’t want to go as short as her Twiggy-esque look, and eventually I settled on this photo – it’s lovely and choppy, which my flat hair desperately needs, and is also the length where she often has it wavy, which was great. I was decided.

Hair or_ How I Will Never Look Cute Again _

A few of the people around me were  bit wary, but it was really sweet because they were largely worried that I wouldn’t be able to do my vintage thing. So after reassuring them I had it all worked out, I booked the appointment and went for it!

WP_20130811_001

I am chuffed to bits with my new style, I absolutely love it. There’s not much quite as satisfying as going to flick your hair back and finding it’s not there! So refreshing, and I’ve had so many compliments – I’ve decided it’s the hair style that’s suited me the most for a very long time. I think I’m probably going to keep it this way! I can wear scarves and headbands with it for a fifties or thirties look, depending on the scarf, and when it’s grown out a little bit I should be able to get some hair rollers and go for a fifties set, or if I’m feeling really brave try my hand at finger waves! It seems to me that I now have more options than when my hair was long, and there will be no more getting frustrated and fed up and just throwing it up in a pony tail! Hello to happy hair!

(This picture also shows the red 24hr Maybelline lip colour mentioned in my last post, which is amazing!!!)

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

2 thoughts on “The Big Chop!

Leave a Reply

