Yes, I am a Traitor…

I have left the Apple family. I’ve been thinking about upgrading my iPhone 3gs for a long time now – it got to nearly 6 months before my contract was due to finish and was starting to throw a few hissy fits and tantrums, which isn’t really what you want from a phone supposedly designed to last 2 years worth of a contract. It was getting really buggy, and I wasn’t too convinced about simply upgrading to the next iPhone, considering how ridiculously expensive they are, for a load of stuff I simply wouldn’t use. Face time is all very clever, but everyone I know and love lives within 10-15 minutes, so I’ll just go and see them. I decided I wanted a change.

I looked into the Nokia Windows Phones, because I have a Windows 8 laptop and love the configuration, and Nokia has been getting back on track recently. I looked at a few Lumias – the 520 didn’t have a good enough camera, the 925 was massive, and the 820 was just right! The interface is so easy to use once you’ve pried yourself away from Apple thinking, I love being able to have everything in one place with my contacts and social networking in the People hub – updating both twitter and Facebook in one fell swoop! Photo sharing is so user friendly too, again can all be done from the Photo hub instead of using the social network app you need, and the camera is fantastic. There’s no zoom, but if there was it would only be crappy digital anyway. I’ve taken some amazing scenic shots with it, and it does better than most camera phones in mixed lighting (although that was a draw of the 925, supposed to be amazing in mixed light). And I swear I keep finding things that make it more awesome, like Nokia’s Mix Radio – at first I was a bit dubious about having random songs played, but once you select the mix you want to listen to, the variety and quality of the songs is incredible! I’m listening to ‘Have a Good Day’ and have gone through the Gorillaz, Katy Perry, The Eagles and now Kings of Leon has just come on! I’m having a very good day!

There are a few little kinks in the software as it is still pretty new – but these will be sorted in good time. There is also the issue of the lack of apps on Windows Phone (I haven’t been able to Instagram for weeks!!! Wah!) but this will also be remedied as more companies see that Windows Phone isn’t a fad, it is here to stay! For example, Windows have made their own instagram-esque app, as a campaign to show the good people at instagram how much we all want them to create the software for us. #2instawithlove 😀 But the lack of apps is also a good thing, as I only download stuff I actually need, and those useful apps are easier to find instead of having to wade through the endlessly pointless creations on the appstore. So every cloud has a silver lining!

I’m not saying everyone should drop and abandon Apple – my sister has an iphone 5 and loves it. But i would recommend at least giving Nokia’s Window Phones a go, if you’re looking for something a bit different, user friendly and beautifully colourful. I’m never looking back!

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

