Vintage for the Weekend!

I try to dress in vintage styling as often as I can, which normally means dressing in smart vintage style for work. I have some lovely wide legged trousers, which look great with various tops tucked in, and get so many compliments on the circle dresses I wear every now and then!
But, that does mean that come the weekend, you sometimes just want to not worry about what you’re wearing, relax and just throw something nice and simple on. That’s all well and good, but then you don’t wear vintage at the time when you can really enjoy it for yourself, and when other people can see you looking glamorous too! So, this weekend, as I was meeting up with a friend, I made the effort.
I have this lovely, simple black circle skirt that I got for my birthday a few years ago, and the volume of it means it looks great with or without a petticoat. I thought I would keep it toned down, so left the petticoat at home.
Next do a wonderful range of simple sweaters, with perfect slash necklines and three quarter length sleeves, and each season there is another selection of gorgeous colours and patterns to choose from. I have a butterfly print one which goes very nicely with this skirt, so once I’d added my scarlet seamed black tights, I was all set outfit wise!
I love the natural vintage look, its so simple and versatile, but really finishes off a classic vintage outfit beautifully. Soft bush on clean, fresh foundation, with nude lips and delicate eyeliner flicks on top of natural eye shadows – its so simple but so effective.
Finally, I curled my hair into a vague approximation of a Marilyn Monroe look – not quite right but I was happy with the final result! It did all blow away in the wind as soon as I walked out the door, but it was so great to be nicely made up for the weekend! It just goes to show its always worth making the effort!
Yours,
The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

