Food Therapy

I’ve had a couple of really nice realisations about food the past few days. Anyone who knows me understands what a foodie I am – I plan day trips around good restaurants, when I’m unwell I regulate how much better I’m feeling by whether or not the Food Network is making me hungry or not, and my friend at work Bianka calls me her Gastro Guru. I love cooking, be it the pleasure I get in perfecting a well loved recipe, or the excitement of trying something new almost as much as I love eating! 

This weekend, I spent most of my Sunday afternoon in the kitchen. Now at first, I was thinking that’s a waste of an afternoon, there are other things I could be doing, but after bearing in mind the foul weather we’ve been subjected to recently, there wasn’t much else we could have been doing! And as I was making a batch of my famous Bacon and Leek pasties, lasting us for dinner that night and several lunches, that definitely can’t be wasting time, giving me back more in the mornings as I don’t have to make lunch :p But really and truly, no matter how tired I am after a week’s work, or dashing about getting things done over the rest of the weekend, I enjoy cooking so much, it was a really lovely way to spend a grotty, miserable Sunday afternoon. It makes me happy, and almost therapeutic experience of chopping up ingredients, stirring the pasty mixture until it’s cooked just right, and the satisfaction of perfectly golden pasties out of the oven, even if the crimping isn’t something I’ve quite got down yet!

Image

And today, I had a stinking migraine throughout the afternoon, and once I’d slept it off in a quiet, dark room, I was exhausted, feeling utterly naff and sorry for myself. But, I was really looking forward to the dinner I had planned, chicken and mushroom chow mien. Luckily, this is one I know almost like the back of my hand, it’s really simple and easy, so instead of just ordering pizza, I got cooking. Again, being in the kitchen, concentrating on the meal, smelling the amazing flavours come together, it was like it revitalised me. And now that I think about it, this has happened before, when I’ve really not felt like doing anything, but dinner still needs cooking!

It’s so nice to know, that whenever I’m feeling down, or a bit rough, I have something so simple as a bit of a pick me up – and I get to eat it afterwards!

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

