Back on the Food Wagon

This year seems to have been a real doozy for some pretty nasty colds – I don’t know anyone who has escaped completely unscathed. I myself have had three in relatively quick succession, its been awful! The first two were fairly basic colds, but just as I was getting over the second, I came down with a really fluey strain that I’m still working out of my system 2 weeks later – it was awful, I could barely move and spent two days off work just sat in front of the tv watching Stargate on Netflix, which is very unlike me even if I’m sick! But the worst thing for me when I’m ill isn’t how rough I’m feeling, or being housebound – its how being unwell completely takes away any interest in food 😦

Don’t get me wrong, I can still eat, but I’m only eating because I know I have to – feed a cold, starve a fever as the old saying goes. But it’s been a few weeks now where I’ve just not been enjoying food at all, and I find that really upsetting. I recently read a review from Gizzi Erskine about a juice detox retreat she did, and whilst she felt the benefits, the biggest drawback for her was the total absence of food, and as it is such a massive part of her life, it felt like there was a gaping hole she couldn’t fill. I think it’s similar to me – whilst food isn’t my career or anything, it’s a massive part of what makes me happy and what gets me excited and passionate. Hell we even plan our holidays and daytrips around food!

IMG_0806

Normally when I’m ill, I will have the Food Network on in the background as a pretty accurate indicator of when I’m starting to feel better – the food begins to look appetising again. As I mentioned, I didn’t even have the energy to think about changing from Stargate on Netflix to anything else, and even this past week as I’ve started feeling better, I’ve been in a bit of a foodie slump. I’ve picked a few duff new recipes, which is bound to happen now and again, but seems to be compounded by the fact that I’m just not enjoying the food anyway, and don’t quite have the brain function to see around the problems and work out how to fix the problems in the recipe as I go.

It’s not all been doom and gloom though – I’m trying to remember to cook more of my basic, classic recipes now and again, just so that I don’t have the stress of doing something for the first time every night. Last week I made mum’s bolognaise; a good, rich chunky beef bolognaise with extra pancetta and porcini mushrooms… I definitely don’t make it often enough 😀 and the best bit was, now we’ve discovered the perfection that is gnocchi, we can have half the portion with pasta one week, and the rest with gnocchi the week after! Heaven! The other thing that is got me through the past couple of weeks is the wonderful foodie memory of the soup my dad made for lunch on Boxing Day – it was without a doubt the best soup I’ve ever had. Butternut squash, leeks and potatoes, with all sorts of earthy spices like cumin, some chickpeas, then just to top it off some gorgeous caramelised onions, feta cheese and a delicious herby drizzle… My mouth is seriously watering just thinking about it. So, melodrama aside, at least I know through some weird side effect of my stinking cold my foodie obsession hasn’t been lost, I just need to get back on the foodie wagon again.

IMG_1368

On that note, this week I shall be making my all time favourite meal – it ends up being several meals actually – halloumi couscous salad, with courgettes, cherry tomatoes and chickpeas. It is just beyond perfect – the saltiness of the halloumi against the sweet cherry tomatoes, the soft couscous against the firm chickpeas… And can be dished up immediately after serving for a warm salad dinner, or popped in the fridge for a few days worth of lunches that you will just never get bored of. The garlic and lime dressing finish it off beautifully, and it’s one of my favourite meals to make if I’m feeling a bit naff, it really is the best pick me up and I could eat it forever if I had to. Thank you BBC Good Food for introducing me to this foodie feast! http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2394/summer-couscous-salad

recipe-image-legacy-id--315542_12

I’m also going back to something I’ve only made once or twice before, but the effort and flavour left it reserved for more special occasions – and I think that the endeavour to get me back on the foodie wagon deserves such a meal – slow cooked Thai beef curry. It has such an intense variety of flavours – and I think one of the first Thai meals I ever made. From what I gather it’s unusual to to have beef as the main meat ingredient in a Thai curry, particularly a green one, but it really works so well when it’s slow cooked and the beef is that tender. I’m really excited for the weekend so I can get cooking it, which is exactly what I need right now! I miss the excitement I get when cooking recently, as well as the eating of the food itself. So, I’m going to stick to some good favourites, play it safe for a little while, so I can fully recover and get my foodie mojo back 🙂

recipe-image-legacy-id--908463_10

I’ll let you know when I start discovering more delectable delights!

Yours,

The Vintage Housewife x

Leave a Reply

